Quick search from this site only

Please Tell Your Friends About islam

Bismillaahir Rahmaanir Raheem

(In the name of Allah, the most Beneficient, the most Merciful)

The Holy Quran is divided into thirty paras (parts). There are 114 Suras and 6236 Ayats in it. But in another viuw, there are 6666 ayats in the Holy Quran. In the context of there revelation, these Suras were divided into two parts: Makki and Madani. The famous opion about the fixation of Makki and Madani Sura is as follows:
The Suras which were revealed before the Hijrat are called the Makki Suras and the Suras which were revealed after the Hijrat are called Madani Suras. In this regared, yahya-Ibn-Salam said: the Suras which were revealed during the Hijrat of the great Prophet (Sm) till the of his arrival at Madina are also called the Makki Suras. The Suras were revealed after his arrival at Madina and during the period of his stay outside Madina are called the Madani Suras.

The number of Suras revealed in Makka is 86 and in Madina 28.